There are a number of situations where you may want to share your current geographic location with a friend or family member. You may want driving directions to their home, arrange a meeting at a nearby location or even when you just want to track the whereabouts of a person. Glympse makes location sharing easy using Google Maps.
You don’t have to sign-up for using Glympse. You can share your location through Glympse via SMS, email, Facebook or Twitter, and recipients can view it using any Internet connected phone or computer.
When you send a Glympse, you can set a time for tracking up to a maximum duration of 4 hours. Glympse provides live tracking of the location on a map that can be tracked by anyone with access to Internet using any device. The Glympse tracking link then can be shared with your emails contact, social friends or saved to Evernote as a trip reminder.
The main screen displays a history of your recently sent location requests – this makes it easy to send a similar request quickly to your other contacts.
The app gives you multiple settings including the option to broadcast your movement speed and to expire the Glympse tracking once you reach your destination. It also has a low power mode that automatically turns off tracking if no one is watching you. There is also an option to request a Glympse from your contact. You can also create a public group (over 100 people can be added) if you require multiple people to track your location. There is also support to import events from your Calendar and then set Glympse tracking request for each entry.
Glympse is a free app and does not display any ads.